POLAR_TANGENT

On microsatellites and the art of remote polar sensing featuring Marko Peljhan and Zacharias Kunuk, an online streamed V2_remote program.

POLAR_TANGENT

Images from the initial expedition, 2006

7
Apr 2006
20:00 to 23:00
location: live from Igloolik, Nunavut, Canada
 

An exclusive online event streamed live from Igloolik, Nunavut in Canada's Far North featuring a dialogue between Marko Peljhan (artist, Ljubljana), Stephen Kovats (curator, V2_) and Zacharias Kunuk (filmmaker and hunter, Igloolik) on the roles and complexity of media art and technology within the structures of identity and cultural development in the remote polar far North. The live stream includes the participation by ca. 25 artists and media activists worldwide in IRC text chat, as well as Igloolik workshop on media culture and mobility attended by 31 local residents.

20.00 - 22.00 (Rotterdam) GMT
18.00 - 20.00 22.00 - 24.00 (Moscow)
14.00 - 16.00 (Montreal)
11.00 - 13.00 (San Francisco)
04.00 - 06.00 (Sydney, Saturday morning)

Polar Tangent (2006) from V2_ on Vimeo.

more on the Polar Tangents 2006, by the Arctic Perspective Initiative:
http://arcticperspective.org/index.php?q=visual-archive&g2_itemId=149

Document Actions
Mailinglist: Subscribe to the English or Dutch version.

Follow usfacebook_16.png twitter_16.png youtube_16.png Favicon Vimeo googleplus
Related Items
Marko Peljhan

Marko Peljhan (SL) is an artist.

Zacharias Kunuk

Zacharias Kunuk (Inuit/CA) is a filmmaker, artist, and hunter.

Makrolab

Makrolab is an autonomous communications and living unit created by Marko Peljhan.

Wiretap 4.04 - ParaSounds 2 Apr 19, 1998 02:00 PM

Wiretap 4.04 was part of the ParaSounds series, part 2 explored Sounds of Silence.

Scott deLahunta

Scott deLahunta (US) is an artist involved in dance and performance.

Aljoša Abrahamsberg

Aljoša Abrahamsberg (SI) is an artist, man with the camera, owner of antenna and art historian ...

Stephen Kovats

Stephen Kovats (CA) is artistic director of transmediale.

Andrea Polli

Andrea Polli (US) is a digital media artist and researcher.

My First Recession Sep 12, 2003 04:00 PM

A book presentation with author Geert Lovink, during N5M4.

The Evening of Marko Peljhan Nov 12, 2004 08:00 PM

An Evening at DEAF04, curated by Marko Peljhan.

Anneke Smelik

Anneke Smelik (NL) is a researcher.

Luka Frelih

Luka Frelih (SI) is an artist working with computers and networks.

Seiko Mikami

Seiko Mikami (US/JP) is a media artist and researcher.

Ionat Zurr

Ionat Zurr (AU) is an artist, curator and researcher.

David Garcia

David Garcia (GB) is an artist and writer, who coined the term "tactical media."

Tapio Mäkelä

Tapio Mäkelä (FI) is a curator, researcher and media artist.

more ...
 
Personal tools
Log in