Tiny Mining

'Tiny Mining' is a project developed by Martin Howse. It was supported by V2_ from September 2019 till end 2020 through the first Alex Adriaansens Residency.

Tiny Mining is a mineral exploration co-operative and community committed to the open source exploitation of the interior of the human body for rare earth and other mineral resources. We provide resources and support for a growing community of tiny miners engaged in the DIY exploration of interior prospects. These resources are shared through (remote) community sweatshops, documentation and video tutorials.



The Tiny Mining community was founded in November 2019, during an expert meeting in Brussels. This open community consists of a diverse group of chemists, geologists, artists and alternative medicine practitioners. In November 2020, a small group of community users took part in the first remote sweatshop dedicated to the exploration of experimental protocols for improving extractive yields and facilitating testing procedures for the wider community. We also explored the construction of alternative belief systems, facilitating the adoption of Tiny Mining as a widespread cultural practice. A metal or element was assigned to each sweatshop participant for reflection and extraction. In order of elements the participants were: Theun Karelse, v2_labs, Dennis de Bel, Kat Austen, Martin Howse, Aniara Rodado and Alfonso Borragan. The results of the first remote sweatshop are documented on the Tiny Mining website: http://tinymining.v2.nl/.

Tiny Mining was made possible by V2_ and supported by the Alex Adriaansens Residency (DAAR), which was made possible thanks to the financial support of Gemeente Rotterdam.

The worldwide premiere of Tiny Mining on 27th November was funded by Gemeente Rotterdam and Creative Industries Funds NL.

Tutorial video production team: Martin Howse, Brigita Kasperaitė, Mindaugas Gapševičius, Top e.V.

With special thanks to the Tiny Mining community and: Andreas Broeckmann, Boris Debackere, Nik Gaffney, Ioana Vreme Moser (logo), Ines Tomašek, Sieta van Horck, and Florian Weigl.

logo dKC

Logo Stimuleringsfonds

Document Actions
Document Actions
Personal tools
Log in